Picture
Recently I had an opportunity to review a pattern that quite frankly had me shaking in my boots.  I know you all think I have made everything under the sun but I haven't.  It always amazes me that people think just because you sew that you can sew anything and everything.  Well, this review proves those people completely CORRECT!  You can make this.  YOU!!  Ya know,  the one reading this post.  Yes, YOU!  I'm not kidding. 


I think I chose the hardest of the patterns but it came out beautifully!  NimblePhish is the designer of these easy to sew stuffies.  I made Otto the Ogre and he is one hairy fella!  I need to brush up on my ladder stitching (the way you close the holes after stuffing so you don't see the thread) to make this more "polished" when it's all finished.  The fabric does get a little thick in places so you do have to go slow to make sure you catch every layer.  I did have to go back and redo a few pieces because it didn't catch everything.  Eh...it happens.  The hairy legs were difficult to turn compared to the rest.  I'm sure there was an easier way to do it than I did. 

My most FAVORITE part was making the face!  For those of you who don't know, I make cakes.  Anytime there is a request for a character like a princess or actual human features...I cringe.  I am not an artist.  I do not draw.  So there is my weekness.....faces and eyes.  Since this fella has some facial features, I thought "great...he will end up looking like an alien or something really far fetched".  NOPE!  He looks pretty darn good!  Yes, I see now where I could have exaggerated the nose a little more with spacing the threads out, so that the polyfil could actually fill his nose. That was my favorite part...sculpting. 

The lip is cute and I can see a toddler saving some goldfish crackers in there.  As I was sewing it, it started to take shape immediately.  The pieces are perfectly spot on.  I didn't however pay attention to the direction of his Mohawk, so he got a little trim afterwards to make it even.  If I were to make another I would spend the extra money and buy the more expensive faux fur.  I have a feeling it will lay better.  I seriously can not wait to make another from her collection!

JaNette




Leave a Reply.